TESTIMONIALS

Birgit knows how to get excellent results from a variety of conditions. She accompanied the development department of the Business Agency at the beginning of a portfolio development process and made a significant contribution to the fact that the quality of the results surprised us. Thanks to their excellent moderation and their equally good preparation, the seminar was as entertaining as it was intensive – with the result that the participants did not go out, but full of impatience to implement the results. Anything but a matter of course!

Christian Bartik, Business Agency Vienna

The best thing about the moderation training seminar that Birgit Baumann carried out for our institute was that it was perfectly adapted to our needs. She invested a lot of time into the corresponding preparation. We not only benefited from the content but also from excellent group dynamics. We were able to use a lot of what we had learned straight after the training in our everyday professional lives and we still use the tools and materials that she provided regularly even for internal meetings and workshops. Above all it was Birgit Baumann’s professionalism and personality which won us over. The whole training was marked by a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere which facilitated very effective and motivating work. I, personally, was impressed by her very open and empathic approach to the group and her flexibility when dealing with individual ideas and expectations from the training. I can only recommend seminars and training sessions with Birgit Bauman to everyone!

Sonja Sheik, ACR

Birgit Baumann perfectly combines the topics workshop moderation and training design. In both cases, it is about working with people and the question of how to combine different perspectives in an increasingly complex world and to create something new. This is true for the way of moderating, but also and especially for her kind of training. For it is precisely in a world like this that the understanding that knowledge no longer comes from a person, but is always a product of various experiences, is needed. This attitude is still new in the training landscape and therefore I am grateful that Birgit Baumann sets an important signal in this direction with this book.

Compact and helpful. Practice-oriented tips and tools for beginners and advanced users are offered in large numbers in this book. Whether workshop moderation or training, here everyone will find suitable tools. For those interested in the theory, there are references to the ideas behind them, but they do not need the tools to work.

Birgit’s Train the trainers was excellent at many levels including but not limited to: – to the European funding cases that I deal with – providing insights on my own and others preferred way/s of learning – approaches applicable beyond the training context e.g. team building – she made a number of 2 hour training slots feel like half that time – helping appreciate how ineffective slides can be if you want your audience to remember what you say

Julian Randall, University of Fribourg

In the course of the preparatory work for the new 2015-2017 multi annual programme, Birgit Baumann has prepared and moderated a workshop with 45 innovation experts, and additionally led an internal workshop with 30 colleagues for the FFG. Our experience was – as expected – a very positive one. Starting with the meticulous preparation, through the imaginative design of the event itself (with some extravagant, but highly effective discussion formats) up to the careful follow-up. Even sceptics of the World Café and similar forms of discourse loved it at the end. Birgit manages to let such complex events run “like clockwork”. She has more than just mastered the small and big fundamentals of communication and moderation techniques. Paired with many years of expertise on the subjects of research and innovation. Therefore, thank you very much, it has been our pleasure!

Michael Binder, FFG

What is the English term for it? Yes, exactly “amazing”! He describes Birgit’s training sessions very well … learned so much, had so much fun !! In her trainings, Birgit builds up great learning, play and group spaces, from which much knowledge, motivation, competence for the participants and the group emerge. And it has a very lasting effect: the “pleasure in use” of what has been learned lasts for a long time. A big thank you to Birgit: that she makes it possible and gives it to us in her fine way!

Aliette Doerflinger, FWF

I had heard good things about Birgit’s team working and moderation exercises but I couldn’t imagine that only two intense days would lift my unit and myself to such levels. Besides the instant effects in terms of productivity and working atmosphere we have continued, all by ourselves, to further improve team spirit, motivation and quality. Birgit’s methods and tools serve as the foundation in which we build a future together.

Jonas Brandström (Director and Head of Societal Development, VINNOVA, Sweden) | Vinnova

Jonas Brandström, Vinnova

Unusual solutions require unusual methods. In technical problems, such as the energy-efficient design of a city or region, almost exclusively technicians and technicians are involved. Although this leads to technically outstanding partial solutions – if these are left to themselves – this does not ensure that the entire potential of this group has been exploited – even beyond the purely technical aspects. The decision to let Ms. Baumann accompany the development process has literally “paid off”. As Conclusio is stated: If you want to stand out from the crowd with his solutions, the entire creativity potential is to use – and this creates Mrs Baumann very well.

Harald Raupenstrauch, Montanuniversität Leoben

Birgit – to the full satisfaction of our employees – carries out the basic knowledge seminars on the subject of “Project Management”. The choice of Birgit was very clear – her diverse experience, her highly professional accessibility and motivating way of working with the seminar team, all speak for her. With her “killer phrases” such as “That won’t work with us, because we do things completely different” do not stand a chance. She will not be distracted from what is important and always manages to show the participants, “What is possible”. Thanks to Birgit we now have

Julia Kniescheck , Business Agency

I was very impressed by our project management training that Ms. Baumann was very specific about our specific company situation. She has been able to impart her in-depth knowledge and practical experience to all of us in a didactically ideal way. This not only allowed us to expand our knowledge theoretically, the training also had a noticeably positive effect on our team building.

Renate Scheidenberger, Baukultur

“With her experience, empathy and overview, Birgit contributed vastly to the successful launch and sustainable conclusion of WWF Austria’s biggest pan-European project. We will rely on her skills again in future!”

Sabine Gisch-Boie , WWF

Regular reflection on the quality of our training sessions and our personal performance as trainers is very important to the team of trainers at the FFG Academy / European and International Programme. For the purposes of procuring new input and not always “stewing in our own juices” we commissioned feedback from Birgit Baumann. She observed two of our 2-day training seminars and recorded important parts of the sessions on video. We processed the feedback on our training design together with her during a feedback workshop and analysed the video recordings. The ideas, suggestions for improvement and input as well as her personal feedback were extremely valuable. Her experience, expert competence and motivated appearance never cease to impress. Both our training sessions and we as trainers profited from her analysis work and we went about the implementation of our next training events highly motivated.

Birgit Steininger , FFG

Ms. Baumann has turned our funeral home into a team again. We have learned through the prudent and sensitive way of moderation to use the strengths of the individual to recognize individualities and to put the common across the divide. This has enabled us to sharpen our vision and focus on our USP’s. In addition, I appreciate the uncomplicated and structured way of working as well as the friendly nature of Mrs. Baumann. “

Jürgen Hühner, Stadtwerke Amstetten

TESTIMONIALS

Birgit versteht es, aus unterschiedlichsten Rahmenbedingungen hervorragende Ergebnisse herauszuholen. Sie hat die Förderabteilung der Wirtschaftsagentur beim Auftakt eines Portfolioentwicklungsprozesses begleitet und wesentlich dazu beigetragen, dass uns die Qualität der Ergebnisse selbst überrascht hat. Dank ihrer hervorragenden Moderation und ihrer ebenso guten Vorbereitung war das Seminar ebenso kurzweilig wie intensiv – mit dem Ergebnis, dass die TeilnehmerInnen nicht geschafft hinausgegangen sind, sondern voller Ungeduld, die Ergebnisse auch umzusetzen. Alles andere als eine Selbstverständlichkeit!

Christian Bartik, Wirtschaftsagentur Wien

Das Beste an dem Moderationstraining, das Birgit Baumann für unser Institut durchgeführt hat, war, dass es perfekt auf unsere Bedürfnisse abgestimmt war. In die entsprechende Vorbereitung hat Sie sehr viel Zeit investiert; das hat sich ausgezahlt. Wir haben nicht nur von den Inhalten, sondern auch von einer hervorragenden Gruppendynamik profitiert. Viele der gelernten Inhalte konnten wir unmittelbar nach dem Training in unserem Arbeitsalltag umsetzten und die von Ihr zur Verfügung gestellten Tools und Vorlagen werden bei uns noch immer regelmäßig auch für interne Sitzungen und Workshops verwendet. Birgit Baumann hat unsere interne Sitzungen und Workshops verwendet. Birgit Baumann hat unser Team vor allem durch ihre Professionalität und Persönlichkeit überzeugt. Das gesamte Training war von einer sehr freundschaftlichen und lockeren Atmosphäre geprägt, die ein sehr effektives und motivierendes Arbeiten ermöglichte. Mich persönlich haben vor allem ihr sehr offener und empathischer Zugang zu der Gruppe und ihre Flexibilität im Umgang mit individuellen Vorstellungen und Erwartungen an das Training überzeugt. Ich kann Seminare und Trainings mit Birgit Baumann nur weiterempfehlen!

Sonja Sheik, ACR

Moderationsbücher gibt es ja auf dieser Welt nicht gerade wenig – wozu also noch eines? … dachte ich, als ich dieses Buch zum ersten Mal in Händen hielt. Beim Lesen wurde mir allerdings klar: Birgit Baumann verbindet die Themen Workshop-Moderation und Trainingsdesign auf perfekte Art und Weise. In beiden Fällen geht es um die Arbeit mit Menschen und die Frage, wie man in einer immer komplexer werdenden Welt unterschiedliche Perspektiven miteinander verbinden kann und (!) dadurch Neues entstehen lassen kann. Das gilt für ihre Art zu moderieren, aber auch und ganz besonders für ihre Art Trainings zu gestalten. Denn gerade in einer Welt wie dieser braucht es das Verständnis, dass Wissen nicht mehr von einer Person kommt, sondern immer ein Produkt verschiedener Erfahrungen ist. Diese Haltung ist in der Trainingslandschaft noch neu und daher bin ich dankbar, dass Birgit Baumann mit diesem Buch ein wichtiges Signal in diese Richtung setzt.

Kompakt und hilfreichPraxisorientierte Tipps und Werkzeuge für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene bietet dieses Buch in großer Zahl. Egal ob Workshop-Moderation oder Training, hier findet jeder passende Tools. Für theorieinteressierte gibt es Verweise auf die dahinterstehenden Ideen, doch zum Funktionieren der Tools braucht es die nicht.

Birgit’s Train the trainers was excellent at many levels including but not limited to: – to the European funding cases that I deal with – providing insights on my own and others preferred way/s of learning – approaches applicable beyond the training context e.g. team building – she made a number of 2 hour training slots feel like half that time – helping appreciate how ineffective slides can be if you want your audience to remember what you say

Julian Randall, University of Fribourg

Birgit Baumann hat für die FFG im Zuge der Vorbereitungsarbeiten für das neue Mehrjahresprogramm 2015-2017 einen Workshop mit ca. 45 Innovations-ExpertInnen vorbereitet und moderiert, darüber hinaus einen internen Workshop mit ca. 30 KollegInnen. Unsere Erfahrungen waren – wie nicht anders erwartet – sehr positiv. Beginnend mit der akribischen Vorbereitung über die kreative Gestaltung der Veranstaltung selbst (mit teilweise extravaganten, aber höchst wirksamen Diskussionsformaten) bis hin zur sorgfältigen Nachbereitung. Selbst Skeptiker gegenüber World Café und ähnliche Diskursformen waren am Ende begeistert. Birgit schafft es, solche komplexen Veranstaltungen „wie am Schnürchen“  ablaufen zu lassen. Sie beherrscht mehr als nur das kleine und das große Einmaleins der Kommunikations- und Moderationstechniken. Und das noch gepaart mit aus langjähriger Tätigkeit erworbenen Fachkenntnissen zum Thema Forschungs- und Innovationsförderung. Daher: Danke schön, es hat uns sehr gefreut!  

Michael Binder, FFG

Was ist der englische Ausdruck dafür? Ja, genau „amazing“! Er beschreibt Birgit’s Trainingseinheiten sehr gut…so viel gelernt, so viel Spass gehabt!! Birgit baut in ihren Trainings tolle Lern-, Spiel- und Gruppenräume auf, aus denen viel Wissen, Motivation, Kompetenz für die Teilnehmenden und die Gruppe hervorgehen. Und es wirkt sehr nachhaltig: die „Anwendungslust“ des Erlernten hält lange an. Einen großen Dank an Birgit: dass Sie das alles ermöglicht und es uns auf ihre feine Art und Weise mitgibt!

Aliette Doerflinger, FWF

I had heard good things about Birgit’s team working and moderation exercises but I couldn’t imagine that only two intense days would lift my unit and myself to such levels. Besides the instant effects in terms of productivity and working atmosphere we have continued, all by ourselves, to further improve team spirit, motivation and quality. Birgit’s methods and tools serve as the foundation in which we build a future together.

Jonas Brandström (Director and Head of Societal Development, VINNOVA, Sweden) | Vinnova

Jonas Brandström, Vinnova

Ungewöhnliche Lösungen bedürfen ungewöhnlicher Methoden. Bei technischen Problemstellungen, wie etwa der energieeffizienten Gestaltung einer Stadt oder Region, sind fast ausschließlich Techniker und Technikerinnen involviert. Dies führt – wenn diese sich selbst überlassen werden – zwar zu technisch hervorragenden Teillösungen, allerdings ist damit nicht sicher gestellt, ob damit auch das gesamte Potential dieser Gruppe ausgeschöpft wurde – auch weit über die rein technischen Aspekte hinaus. Die Entscheidung, Frau Mag. Baumann den Entwicklungsprozess begleiten zu lassen, hat sich im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes „bezahlt“ gemacht. Als Conclusio sei festgehalten: Wenn man sich mit seinen Lösungsansätzen von der breiten Masse abheben möchte, ist das gesamte Kreativitätspotential zu nutzen – und dies schafft Frau Baumann ganz ausgezeichnet.

Harald Raupenstrauch, Montanuniversität Leoben

Birgit führt – zur höchsten Zufriedenheit aller – für unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter die Grundlagenseminare zum Thema „Projektmanagement“ durch. Die Wahl fiel ganz klar auf Birgit – ihre vielfältigen Erfahrungen, ihr hochprofessioneller Zugang und ihre motivierende Art mit dem Seminarteam zu arbeiten sprechen für sie. Bei ihr haben Killerphrasen wie „Bei uns geht das aber nicht, weil bei uns ist alles ganz anders“ keine Chance. Sie lässt sich nicht vom Wesentlichen ablenken und schafft es immer wieder, den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern aufzuzeigen, „was alles geht“. Dank Birgit haben wir mittlerweile auch Projektmanagement-Standards und –Strukturen im Unternehmen eingeführt. Sie hat einen entscheidenden Anteil daran, dass unsere Vorhaben heute deutlich professioneller und strukturierter abgewickelt werden und dass „Projektmanagement“ nicht mehr nur ein Schlagwort ist.

Julia Kniescheck , Wirtschaftsagentur

Sehr überzeugt hat mich bei unserem Projektmanagement-Training, dass Frau Mag. Baumann ganz konkret auf unsere spezifische Unternehmenssituation eingegangen ist. Sie hat ihr fundiertes Fachwissen und ihre praktische Erfahrung didaktisch ideal an jeden von uns vermitteln können. Dadurch konnten wir unseren Wissensstand nicht nur theoretisch erweitern, das Training hat sich darüberhinaus auch merkbar positiv auf unsere Teambildung ausgewirkt

Renate Scheidenberger, Baukultur

„Birgit hat mit ihrer Erfahrung, Empathie und Übersicht wesentlich dazu beigetragen, dass das größte pan-europäische Projekt des WWF Österreich einen erfolgreichen Start und einen nachhaltigen Abschluss fand. Auf ihr Können vertrauen wir auch in Zukunft!“

Sabine Gisch-Boie , WWF

Dem TrainerInnenteam der FFG-Akademie/Europäische und Internationale Programme ist es ein Anliegen die Qualität der Trainings und den persönlichen Auftritt als TrainerIn oder SprecherIn in regelmäßigen Abständen zu reflektieren. Um uns neue Anregungen zu holen und nicht immer „im eigenen Saft zu schmoren“, haben wir uns Feedback von Birgit Baumann eingeholt. Sie hat zwei unserer 2-tägigen Trainings beobachtet und wichtige Teile des Trainings auf Video aufgezeichnet. In einem Feedback-Workshop haben wir mit ihr gemeinsam das Feedback zum Trainingsdesign aufgearbeitet sowie Videoaufnahmen der TrainerInnen analysiert. Die Ideen, Optimierungsvorschläge und Anregungen sowie ihr persönliches Feedback waren außerordentlich wertvoll. Ihre Erfahrung, ihr motiviertes Auftreten und ihre Fachkompetenz sind immer wieder beeindruckend. Unsere Trainings und wir als TrainerInnen haben von ihrer Analysearbeit profitiert und sind hochmotiviert an die Durchführung der nächsten Trainingsveranstaltungen herangegangen.

Birgit Steininger , FFG